Midwest Regional ESC hosts Logan County College Day

The Midwest Regional Educational Service Center invites area high school juniors, seniors and their parents to participate in the 37th annual Logan County College Day on Sept. 15 from 8:30 to 11 a.m. at Benjamin Logan High School. This educational opportunity is offered to high school students from Bellefontaine City, Benjamin Logan Local, Indian Lake Local, Ohio Hi-Point Career Center and Riverside Local Schools.

Representatives from colleges, universities, technical schools and the U.S. military will be available to meet with students during the event. Each school will attend Logan County College Day during a pre-arranged time block. Parents are encouraged to attend and should check with their student or call their high school guidance department for their school’s allotted time frame.

Speakers from two-year, four-year, state, private schools and the military will speak to students and describe the various educational options. The high school students will have an opportunity for a short question and answer session with the speakers prior to meeting with admission counselors.

Scheduled speakers are Alyson Harruff-OSU (Lima), Virginia Hensley-Cedarville U., SFC Joseph Palumbo-US Army National Guard, and Rose Reinhart-Rhodes State.

Advice to students

Try to have your college choices narrowed to three or four.

Be serious about talking to college representatives. They can give you good information that may difficult to find.

Pick up information and bring it home to read!

Spend some time at some of the institutions you may not be familiar with, one of them might be exactly what you are looking for!

Your parents and other interested adults may attend any session.

The ESC expressed appreciation to Mary Rutan Hospital, Grand Rental and Easton Water Solutions for their continued support of the students in Logan County.

For more information, contact guidance counselors at the area high schools or Karen Sorreles at the Midwest Regional Educational Service Center, 937-599-5195 ext. 5506.

Institutions to be represented

Institutions to be represented included the following, as of news deadline:

1. American College Dublin

2. Anderson University

3. Ashland University

4. Bluffton University

5. Bowling Green State University

6. Bradford School

7. Capital University

8. Cedarville University

9. Clark State Community College

10. Cleveland State University

11. Defiance College

12. Gannon University

13. Goshen College

14. Heidelberg University

15. Hiram College

16. Hocking College

17. Indiana Tech

18. Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis

19. Lake Erie College

20. Lincoln Tech

21. Malone University

22. Manchester University

23. Marietta College

24. Marion Technical College

25. Miami University

26. Mount St. Joseph University

27. Mount Vernon Nazarene University

28. Muskingum University

29. Ohio Army National Guard

30. Ohio Christian University

31. Ohio Northern University

32. Ohio State Beauty Academy

33. Ohio State School of Cosmetology

34. Ohio State University – ATI

35. Ohio State University of Lima

36. Ohio University

37. Otterbein University

38. Rhodes State College

39. Rosedale Bible College

40. School of Advertising Art

41. Shawnee State University

42. Taylor University

43. University of Akron

44. University of Cincinnati

45. University of Cincinnati-College

of Education, Criminal Justice, & Human Services

46. University of Mount Union

47. University of Northwestern Ohio

48. University of Rio Grande

49. University of Saint Francis

50. University of Toledo

51. Urbana University

52. US Marine Corp

53. Virginia Marti College of Art & Design

54. Walsh University

55. Wilmington College

56. Wittenberg University

57. Wright State University

58. WYO Tech

59. Youngstown State

Reps from state and private schools and the military will attend

Submitted story

Submitted by the Midwest Regional Education Service Center.