Logan County Youth Leadership Committee recognizes high school leaders

Submitted story

The members of the Logan County Youth Leadership Committee announced the winners of the annual Outstanding Leaders Award. Each Youth Leadership Impact Team from Bellefontaine City, Benjamin Logan, Indian Lake and Riverside high schools selected a person who exemplifies an Outstanding Leader.

Bellefontaine High School chose Karen Young.

Benjamin Logan High School chose Chris Bair.

Indian Lake High School chose Dave Coburn.

Riverside High School chose Ron and Judy Helmlinger.

The Outstanding Leaders were scheduled to be honored at the annual Logan County Youth Leadership ceremony on Tuesday, May 9, at 10:30 a.m. at First Church of God in Bellefontaine.

The following criterion was used to make their selection.

Has made a noticeable impact in the lives of kids.

Possesses outstanding leadership skills

Is committed to leading in a positive direction.

Models leadership ethics and morals.

The guest speaker for this event was scheduled to be Heather Comer, former graduate of Youth Leadership. Heather graduated Salutatorian from Riverside in 2013 where she was involved with Youth Leadership, golf, softball, National Honor Society County President, Class Treasurer, and more. She is a senior at Ohio Northern University majoring in Medical Laboratory Science. While at ONU, she has been involved in various clubs, such as Student Athletic Advisory Committee, Professional Association of Medical Laboratory Students (Secretary), Good News Bear Orientation Leader, Kappa Phi Women’s Service Sorority, and other professional medical associations.

Logan County Youth Leadership was begun in 1996 as an offshoot of the Logan County Chamber of Commerce adult Leadership Program. Since that time over 1,280 students from Logan County schools, grades 7-12 have participated in the program to learn and develop their leadership qualities.

Submitted story

Submitted by the Midwest Regional Educational Service Center.

Submitted by the Midwest Regional Educational Service Center.